• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

buying used vs building new?

shnelson

I'm in the market for a new (or new to me) house, my initial thoughts were to find an already established home and put some elbow grease into it to see what I could do... then I started finding what appear to be incredible deals on development lots (found a development that was foreclosed on, prices seem too good to be true for the area). There are already a few homes stood up in this development, and the remaining lots have utilities in place.

I have some experience with home building, and am not afraid of the challenge, it's very likely that I would try to find a home builder and see if they'd drop the price if I were to do some of the work myself.

With the market as it is, there are some killer deals on almost new homes already built, so unless you can stand up a new house for a comparable price - i'm having a tough time justifying it.

Does anyone have any advice or recent experience relating to this? Is it reasonable to expect a home to be constructed for $150k or less in the east central MN area (not including the land or required excavation) - I'm talking a typical split level 1200-2000sq ft floor plan.

I'm sure you could, a buddy of mine just bought a foreclosed home in North Branch that was built in 2005, nice yard, needs nothing but new paint for 130k. Even with the construction remember the yard, driveway, sod, ect. We built our home and bet we had to dump another 10k into the yard, window treatments, paint, trees, bushes ect.