• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

I have been making my own for a few years now. Does anyone have any good recipes for making it? My patch must be fairly mild because my 9 year old daughter helps me dig it and she eats the roots like a carrot.

I have been making my own for a few years now. Does anyone have any good recipes for making it? My patch must be fairly mild because my 9 year old daughter helps me dig it and she eats the roots like a carrot.

Horseradish isn't really hot until it's ground-The longer you leave it sit before adding vinegar the more potent it gets. Vinegar stops the potentency increase. If you do a web search you can find 100's of different recipes. Good luck and do the processing in open air. cryand cry some more when processing.

Juneau

do you grind it and then let it sit? how long should you let it sit to get really hot?

I cut the radish in small cubes and use a food processer add a liitle water while processing -let it sit probably half an hour in garage with window open and then add vinegar and some sugar. This is grin for just basic horseradish. I also make a cream style where cream is used. Put in jars and refridge or you can put in jars and freeze and use up to a year later without it loosing its zest.