• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Should I return the rod?

TylerS

Hey, total noob here to the musky scene. Got my first taste of the infamous "fish of a thousand casts" on a trip up to Lake of the Woods a few years ago. Walleye fishing went to s%@t so decided to try my hand at ol' esox. Lo and behold, I managed to land my first off a rocky outcrop. Nothing monster (36 inches) but it was exciting nonetheless.

But I digress...

I was walking through the store that lays claim to my future childrens' college funds (a.k.a. Cabelas) and found a musky-esque rod on clearance for 30 bucks (I know, I know, you get what you pay for, but I couldn't resist...it was marked down 50%)! Now I have no idea what constitutues a good musky rod. The thing is stiff as a broom handle but has a fast tip. Its a 7 foot Cabelas IM7 casting rod. It's labeled "musky," thus my assumption as to its intended purpose.

My question is this: Will this be a good all-around rod for my dabbling into the art of "great-gator-of-the-north" fishing? I still have the arduous task of finding a reel to slap on it...and the pain of buying lures, lines, etc. (oh the agony...hehehe). I plan on sticking to mostly top waters and bucktails. Anything else, and I'll have to add another hobby to my already-too-large list of things to do outside.

Anyway, thanks for reading my ramblings. Any advice appreciated.

-TylerS

I say for $30 it's not worth the trouble to return, and it's always good to have a back-up rod if you get a more expensive one later.

P.S. I'm sure that plenty of musky fishermen with their seemingly infinitely large pocketbooks might disagree with my own personal beliefs on fishing gear, but I always go cheap(relatively) on rods when I can and put the money I save into better reels.