• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Decoy in the Spring???

slayer21

Im new to the whole turkey hunting but we have them on our deer hunting land so we applied the last few and finally got drawn..wondering if you use a decoy in the spring and my brother will be calling for me and he is pretty good with diaphram but wondering if a box would be good to learn.. just trying to get some info

box calls, slate calls and push-button calls are great for the beginning hunter.

Decoys will be good for the spring hunts. I usually gage my decoy use on what I find while scouting or based on how the birds react while hunting.

If they shy away from the decoys, I won't use them on my next set.

It would be a big plus if you had more than one call to rely on. Quite often they show a definite preferance to one over the other. IMO a box call and a slate call need to be in your vest everytime you hit the woods.

I always start out with decoys. One jake and one or two hens are pretty standard. Like ZEP said, they'll let you know weather or not they to use them.

The Jake and 2 hen combo worked last season for my son. The 24lb Tom came and wanted to kick that drakes but!!

I got mine last year as he was face to face with the jake decoy too. Just goes to show, put you jake pretty close and have him facing you to get those toms in close.

the Tom will want to be infront of the decoys to get their attention and present a challenge. Not only the fact of having decoys is important, but placement is key.

If the decoys are facing away from you the birds won't get close enough to present a good shot.