Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Tulibee, how do you fish for them?

20 posts in this topic

What is the best way to approach them. Deep water, sharp breaklines to deepwater, islands that are surrounded by deepwater. Bait, lures time of day?

I'm no expert, but I've caught many over time. I typically catch them in relatively deep water at the basin of a dropoff (typically steep now that I think about it). I am usually fishing for walleyes, and I always have a small rig geared up and within reach for when I see suspended fish come through. Sometimes crappies (depending on the body of water I'm on) but normally tullies. They are a blast to catch. In fact, a number of years ago, I had my brother out on Winnie perching, and it was one of those 60+ degree days in late March. At the time he didn't ice-fish or have any intention of getting into it. We started with the perch, but then got into the tulibees and his small kids were there too. We probably caught 30 of them in a few hours, and the next year at the ice-fishing show in St. Paul, he was fully setup and is now an avid ice-angler.

Typically a genz worm or fat boy with waxies or gulp.