• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

where do crappies and sunny hangout in the spring?

Tyler23

this will be my first year being able to go fishing on my own. ive been fishing with my uncle for as long as i can remember but i was to young to really understand why we were in certain places. i really like pan fishing though. anyway i can remember trolling the shore looking for sunnies spahing? but where do these two speics like to hangout in the spring and early summer? im kinda new to doing this on my own so any help work be great!

Shortly after ice out the sunnies and crappies will be found in shallower bays preferably on the north side of the lake where the water warms faster. Another spot would be on larger creek inlets and outlets. If you can find a culvert or small bridge close to the lake that the creek flows in or out of. Try fishing the downstream side where the water eddies back around towards the culvert or bridge and the upstream side if it eddies before the water dumps through the culvert. Dig out a county map, find where the road crosses the creek closest to the lake and give it a shot. Typically a flu flu fished with light line and tipped with a waxie or gulp under a nice float will produce great results. Keep in mind that the fish do stack up this time of year and tend to be fairly aggressive. Inturn making it one of my favorite times of year and favorite fish to catch. With that being said, just use your head on the overharvesting and if you find a gem be careful who you tell or it won't be a gem anymore. One more thing. All the early spring spots can change from day to day. Water too cold and they are'nt there yet water too warm and they move out. You could start looking as early as a week after ice out.