• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Alaskan economy

Hey any one up there have any info for me? I am looking to make a big move; I know alot of things are expensive. but are people suffering due to the poor economy in the lower 48 as much as the rest of us? are there opportunities for people to make good money and still save some? are business hiring, what fields?

I dunno....I don't make big bucks, barely medium bucks:) And many of the folks I met up there fishing I think are in the same boat...trip of a lifetime, or maybe if they're lucky, a trip every other year. I think a lot of the fishing tourists will be affected, I know I am. NO AK this year:(

I've been to AK 3 times so I'm no expert, but I've spent quite a bit of that time with guides who live in the area. I've also talked with lots of residents. This is what I have gleaned from what they told me about living there. Most good jobs are in three categories: Military, government and skilled labor. Tourism is seasonal and provides little in the way of benefits and high pay. You need to be an owner of a resort or large charter operation which takes time to build a business to be making good money in tourism. Most of the small tourism operators that I've met are retired and have a secondary pension of some sort or has a spouse that works. In addition most have an off-season skill that they work at.

Skilled labor like welders, electricians, plumbers, machinists, etc have lots of work mostly in the oil business. Carpenters do pretty good as well.

I once read an article about living in Alaska. The author quipped that most people move to Alaska and struggle to survive for 10 years doing all sorts of odd and risky jobs. Then write a book about how they survive and live happily ever after on the profits of the book.