• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Trolling motor batteries?

JASONY

Question

Pat-the battiers are wierd together to get the 24v but its converted to 24v at the plug on the trollingmotor. If that makes sense.

The batteries are wired in series to get 24V (12 +12). There is no conversion to be done. Series wiring doesn't give more capacity, just more volts. If you want more capacity you would have to wire 2 sets of series wired 12V in parallel (4 12V batteries total) to get more capacity.

Space- Last year. Im not a expert but, when trying to figure out why my motor wasn't working.I took my meter and check the battiers each had 12+v in them. At the panel where I plug the motor in had 12+v not 24v. There are no fuses in the motor. So I went to Fish-electrioncs he said that in the plug there is a stripe of metal that completes the contection to make 24v. I'm not a machanic.

Space- Last year. Im not a expert but, when trying to figure out why my motor wasn't working.I took my meter and check the battiers each had 12+v in them. At the panel where I plug the motor in had 12+v not 24v. There are no fuses in the motor. So I went to Fish-electrioncs he said that in the plug there is a stripe of metal that completes the contection to make 24v. I'm not a machanic.

Depends on the plug. Some 24V systems are wired at the batteries, some are wired at the plug.

Charley, the 24V plug is just connecting the batteries in series at the plug. For the plug to work, you have to run 4 wires from the battery to the plug. This is why most people series the batteries together and run 2 wires to the trolling motor from the batteries.

To get more capacity you would have to parallel two sets of 12V batteries then series them, like spearchucker said.