• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fat Lab Question

muskydave

I just lost my Black Lab Buddy at almost 12 to kidney failure. That almost broke my heart. I have a friend that has a 1 year old yellow lab that needs a home, he is AKC, hip cert, looks great on paper. However it's about 20#s overweight and lays around alot. He has a wonderful personality, retrieves well and also seems to quarter ok, but at the same time I don't want to have a lazy dog. Kind of a strange question. Is obesity directly related to his energy level? If he's skinny is he going to be more likely to have the drive to hunt all day? Or is he fat because he's lazy in the 1st place. Just thinking out loud but I have to make a decision in a couple of days. If you have any tests that you use to determine huntability that may help too.

Im not an expert but id say that the obesity is a direct correlation to the owner and diet. Maybe your buddy was not giving him the excercise he needed and a lil bit to much food. I think it would be very easy to fix, dogs are able to lose weight alot easier than humans for the main reason- they cant get there paws in to the cookie jar. You give the right amount of food and plenty of excercise and you will see him in alot better shape. In my whole life i have never seen a lazy dog, ive seen fat dogs that lay around all day bc its all they can do bc their owner doesnt excercise them or maybe stuck in a cage alday everyday. You will also want to make sure you get him some good food also.

You will also see he his energy level increase with the better shape hes in. Just like you cant run a marathon without being in shape, your dog cant hunt all day without being in shape.