• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Canoe or kayak...I can't decide!

Hello all,

I've been trying to decide whether I want to invest in a canoe (the one person variety) or a kayak. I am a pretty avid outdoorsmen--I spend five or six days a week on the water in the summer--and I take quite a few canoe trips down rivers in the northeast part of the state or in the BWCA.

I'm thinking about going solo, however, but I've got zero experience in one-man canoes or kayaks, and I don't know anyone with experience, so I'm floundering about on the web without any of the best type of information--personal experience.

What I'd do with the boat: short, day-long fishing trips to my home water, the Mississippi (where I'd be paddling upstream and down); paddling and fishing the lakes around home; a few camping trips floating down rivers in the northeast part of the state; a trip or two to Quetico, Wabikimi, or the BWCA.

Essentially, it'll get used the most for fishing, but I will also be portaging with it. Oh, I'm pretty heavy (240 lbs) and I'm not particularly concerned about the weight of the kayak/canoe--I'm pretty buff. grin

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Carl

I have been thinking about this myself. I have a kayak, sit on top variety. It is nice for fishing out of.

Plus of kayak,

-very stable, some rapids in rivers no problem

My concerns about kayak in BWCA,

-would it be slower than a solo canoe?

-I don't think I could haul as much gear for camping/fishing trip

I have been thinking about renting a solo canoe to give it a try this summer.

If your going to be doing any portaging in the BW avoid kayaks. I made the mistake of taking a kayak instead of a solo canoe on a 9 BW and Quetico trip. Huge mistake. Kayaks are a night mare to portage.