Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
crappieguy

Strike Master auger won't start

14 posts in this topic

I have a Strike Master that I have not used for two years that I forgot to drain the gas out of. I have replaced it with new gas but it will not start. I know there is nothing wrong with the motor since I had it tuned up since the last time I used right before I put it in storage. Any help would be appreciated. thanks Pete

Does the cord pull hard? If it does, there is a good chance that the carbs are gummed up. I had that happen to me this year, I brought it to strikemaster and they took care of the problem for me.

i would definately say it has carb issues but have you checked your spark plug? did you actually drain the old fuel out of the line that went into the carb?

Its gotta be the carb, they are not too complicated to clean if you are willing to do some research on the net. But if you ask me don't waste your time cleaning the jets, just buy new ones. They are cheap and then you can rule them out of the equation.

ThCold blood

Thanks for the reponse. How do I drain the fule from the line? I thought that moght be a problem

I pull the line off at the tank, get a pail and be ready for a little cleanup.

If you have drained the old gas and have new gas..plus new plug, then with out the plug in, pull the rope a half dozen times. re insert the plug and see if she'll fire up. add some sea foam to the gas and let it help clean up the gum.

you should just have a simple clamp on the fuel line going into the carb pull that down and pull the line if there is fuel in the carb it should drain to if it doesn't the jet could be plugged but i realize thats a lot to remember

Mine is very hard starting first of the year. How many times did you try? After that first start, its 1-2 pulls every time.