• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Weapon of choice

Joe15

Nope, it's a 7.62 x 54.

I've been told (don't know if it's truth or not) that the 7.62 rounds can be used in a .308, but .308 rounds can not be shot through the 7.62. Is this fact??? I have no idea. Quite honestly I'm not a rifle expert. Out here on the prairie we mainly use shotguns for birds and deer.

I hate the metric system. Water should boil at 212 degrees and not 100 degrees. 100 degrees is bathtub warm water, not boiling. grin

Oh, 7.62 x 54R??? that is not the same as a 308. the NATO marking for the .308 is 7.62, kind of like .223 rounds are 5.56

You might be able to ram a 308 in your gun but I wouldn't pull that trigger. You're right, you might be the only one using that gun for coyotes. That is almost a howitzer....of course if you aren't worried about saving the pelts, it is more than adequate

my calling/posting rig is a ruger m77 stainless in .22-250 with a 4.5-16 42mm scheels scope.

for walking cattails, and other heavy cover, a tricked out sks 7.62x39 with an aimpoint on top.

shotgun is a winchester superx2 with a new carlsons full turkey choke, or my patternmaster extended choke.

those are the 3 guns ive taken the most fox/yotes with, but have shot em with pretty much everything in my gun cabinet, from 10/22's to remington 700 in .270, to a single shot 30" barrel full choke winchester shot gun...and even a beretta 92fs pistol.

My varmint gun is just an ordinary .223 Savage 110 with a 3x9 scope, but my oldest son has been working with a stainless Ruger 77 in .243 with a heavy barrel, laminated stock and a 4X15 scope. He has it doped out all the way to 400 yards. He says that at that range he has to learn to shoot between heartbeats.