• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Knife Sharpeners

Bogie

Question

5 answers to this question

I am by no means an expert on knife sharpening, but I have been very happy with my Chef's Choice 3-stage electric sharpener. I use it for all my knives--kitchen, filet and hunting.

It's a little pricey--$75.00-$80.00, but I'm really glad I have it. I often will take it with me to friends' or relatives' houses and sharpen their knives for them, so it gets a lot of use.

They do make two electric models, but the better is the 3-stage. If you watch, you might be able to get them on sale for $65.00, but that doesn't happen very often.

Hope that helps.

Good luck.....

another sharpener that works is one of the little hand sharpeners. they are ceramic, they put an decent edge, but are only good for a while. they develope a groove after a while and don't work as well( they will work on your wifes butcher knives, they are thicker) i tell archers that want to sharpen broad heads to buy a new one each fall. then put the old one in the drawwer with the butcher knives. they cost 4-8 $ . del

Thanks huskminn & delmuts
It sounds like I might be interested in the Chefs Choice. I've been looking at that model but didn't want to spend that much without talking to someone that owned one. I have several of the little ceramic ones and they are great for maintaning an edge. huskminn will that elec. handle the thicker knives like a large Buck knife? Thanks for any info you can provide.

Bogie,