• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Question about binoculars

BobT

Question

I've been considering making a purchase of binoculars to be used for hunting, fishing, and other general glassing. I have narrowed my search to one of two models and one of two optics....I think.

Leupold Wind River Cascade in either 8x42 or 10x42.

Nikon Monarch ATB in either 8x42 or 10x42.

I know pretty much nothing about optics and was hoping to get educated. Anyone have experience with these and what are your thoughts?

What about the power? 8x or 10x?

Thanks,

Bob

11 answers to this question

Hey Bob, I am no pro, but I got some 8x42 a few years ago. Almost got the Nikons, I liked them alot. Did not look at the Leupolds but I bet they are nice too. I ended up getting Burris Signature Series, part becasue they were on sale, and part because I thought they were crisper and cleared than the Nikons, but still like the Nikons as well. The sales guy was a birder and said the Burris mechanics were more solid with gears rather than springs... He had me tap both on the table and you could feel the spings "twanging" in the nikon, but not in the Burris... maybe something to ask about or to check out... but with that said, he did like the Nikons as well, and I got the Burris for same price as the Nikons, though the normal price of the Signature Series was quite high... anyway...