• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ratso baits

frazwood

Question

I'm not new to ice fishing but I am new to Ratso baits. I bought a few this year and I have tried them on the ice the past few days.

I have had almost no luck with them at all. I can attract fish to the bait according to my electronics, but they almost never seem to take it into their mouths.

I did manage to catch three very small crappie this morning on the Ratso, but their bite was EXTREMELY subtle -- I noticed (hoped?) that the bait was falling a little bit slower than normal. The only other fish that I caught was a bluegill that I foul-hook/snagged.

Any help would be great. Thanks!

24 answers to this question

Do you use a spring bobber?

I first tried ratsos last year and only caught a couple despite marking fish all over the lure and even following it up and down. One day when that was happening I started looking down the hole and I could see sunnies grabbing it, holding it in their mouths for a second and spitting it out. There was no detectable bite with my ultralight rod. So I bought a spring bobber and now I catch them like crazy on ratsos and other plastics.

They can be hot or cold, like any other lure. I happen to love them. I catch more fish on plastics now than live bait. With the ratso's, I try to vibrate the jig, getting the tail to move all over, and not so much quick jerking the jig. It's almost as if they can't help but attack it. I've noticed that while fishing plastics, the fish just inhale the jig. With live bait, they mouth it a little, but usually don't inhale it.

Last year I was crappy fishing with a buddy at 9-10pm or so and I was able to out-fish him using the ratso over his jig and minnow. Also, there was no resetting time other than to glow the head or head and body.