• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lost my buddy... looking to share love with another

JHays1

I have posted on this forum a few times before regarding training questions for my lab puppy. Well unfortunately I experienced one of the largest tragedies of my life. I had a house fire recently while I was at work and my pup didnt make it out in time. She died of smoke inhalation and I have been dealing with it ever since. It has been harder than I would have imagined to get over my little girl. She was 11 months old and had just gotten through with her first hunting season. I am new to training a dog but something must have clicked with her because she did great exceeded every expectation. Well unfortunately here I am now without my buddy. A great buddy and one that was giving to me originally to help me deal with the passing of my mother. I am starting to get better slowly and feel that I am ready to share some love with a new buddy.

I am thinking of getting a female black lab from either Smith Farms Labs or Captains Kennels in Lakeshore MN. Does anyone have anything to say about these breeders.

Ideally I am looking for a very calm mellow dossile female black lab as that is exactly what my last one was and she was great. The best friend a guy could have. I am looking for a housedog/duck hunter and occassional upland dog. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Anyone else out there who has recently lost a dog. I feel for you. These are hard times!