• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

custom rod xmas gift

shnelson

Hey guys,

I wasn't quite sure where to post this, so i'll give it a shot here. I'm looking to get my father in law a muskie rod for xmas, I'd like to keep it within the $80-100 range if possible.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'd like to get some words inscribed at the base, '09 is kind of a comeback season for him chasin the big pigs so I'd like to set him up with something versatile and screaming sentimental value =].

Any feedback is greatly appreciated, my apologies if this is posted in the wrong place.

Thanks!

I agree with dtro, brother. I've been building rods for 20 years, at least, and nowadays there are pretty darn good factory rods for sale at relatively inexpensive prices. I'd take a look at any of the bigger sporting goods stores in the state for rod sales - for that kind of money, you'd be surprised what you might find.

Building a rod is not cheap. Good blanks start around $75, minimum, and can go up towards $300 really fast. Guides(carbide $2-$5 each), reel seats($15), cork for handles($25) adds up fast, then there's the labor involved. I try to make 30% on my rods - if the parts cost $100, I'd charge at least $130. And once you fish with a high-end blank, anything of less quality just won't cut the cheese...so now we're into some serious cha-ching.

You can find great factory rods at reputable stores for under a hundred bucks. Buy it and find somebody to inscribe it for you. A custom built rod would cost a bit more than $100. Good luck and what a great gift.