• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Propane Tank and Auger idle for 3 years, what do I do?

Sybar

looking to get back into some good old ice-fishing...and one of my questions is...I have a 3 year old, pretty much full Propane tank...is it still safe to use my sunflower heater with it? Also I have a auger that has been sitting with old fuel in it for 3 years, are there some tips and tricks that anyone could please recommend to help me get back out on the ice...Thanks!

Definitely drain the old fuel from the auger and put in a fresh mix before trying to start it. If you didn't use amsoil or stabil you might not have any luck and it might be gummed up. Also, you might want to squirt a little mix into the cylinder before starting to get the walls lubed up.

I'm not a mechanic, so maybe someone else has better suggestions.

Welcome to the forum!

Auger - not an expert, but if it were mine I would check it out for leaks, check plug to make sure it is clean, empty old gas and put new mixed gas using amsoil saber pro @ 100:1 and try starting it. If all works good, check to make sure the blades are sharp and your good to go.

I like sea foam, so I might be tempted to put some of that in your tank of mixed gas to get the any gunked cleaned out of the engine.

Gas additive that is a gas stablizer and also is suppose to clean gunk & deposits out of your engine/fuel system.

They sell them at most gas stations, FF, etc. Use it periodically in all my engine. Lots of guys swear by this stuff.