• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Auger Gas Mixture

titelines

Hi All,

I have a Strikemaster Lazer Mag, have always bought the Strikemaster smokeless oil for it and mixed it up according to the directions.

Last year I noticed that it was running really rich, thick smoke and oil actually spitting out of the muffler.

I cleaned it all up to get ready for the season and soaked the muffler for three days to get it all cleaned out in there.

I mixed up a new batch of gas/oil at 50:1 and it seems to be working great. I think I could go even a little thinner.

Anyone else think that the directions for mixing ratio are a bit too much? I'm thinking that the conditions we run the augers under are sterile enough that that it doesn't need to be so thick.

I ran the regular recommend mixture with standard oil the first couple tanks (during motor break in period). Since then I have been running Amsoil Saber Pro at 100:1 for the last 2 seasons. Don't have the oily muffler issue, seems to starts better and runs stronger. Use the same mix for my other small 2 cycle engines.

Lots of bait shops, auto parts stores, gas stations carry them. Or you can order from the Oilman that is on this site.

I recommend getting the Amsoil Saber Pro pillow packs, much easier to use. Just enough for mixing a gallon container at 100:1 or 80:1.

I appreciate all the great comments about the AMSOIL Saber Professional.

Many prefer the "pillow packs" that mix 1 gallon of gas (yields 100-1 ratio, to get 80-1 just use .8 gallon), but there are several other package sizes available: There is a 3.5 oz bottle to mix a 2 to 2 1/2 gallon can and an 8 oz bottle that will mix 5 gallons at 80-1 or 6 gallons at 100-1.

The pillow packs are packaged 48 per case. Though case price is just 5 cents per packet less.