• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New muzzleloader?

SCUMFROG

I've been really happy with my TC Omega. I know some other decent choices have come out though so I'm not sure I'm an expert on all the options. If you can find a well taken care of used Omega I don't think you could go wrong with it which might get you under the $200 dollar mark. I'd get on the phone and start calling around and see if any of the gun stores have a higher quality muzzleloader thats been used.

You will need some other gear so it will help if some of the guys give you the basics list of what you're going to need. I don't think I lot of guys get rid of these though. I'd like to find one used and see if I could get my dad to come up for a day or two of muzzleloader hunting.

I shoot loose powder but you should probably go with 2 pellets of triple seven pyrodex. You can't go wrong with 100 grains of powder. This also means that you don't have to buy a measuring device for the powder. You're also going to need primers, and bullets. I shoot the Hornady SST's in the style that has a little less friction for loading. You'll probably need 1 box of bullets to get through this seasons sighting it in and hunting with it. You'll also need patches for cleaning the muzzleloader, and some cleaner for the patches. Some of the patches need to be wet for cleaning and some need to be dry.

Ryan

CVA has a few nice but cheap ones out there also Traditions has some. I personally own two Traditions. I love them and the way they shoot. BAD part is the supplys are going to run you a $100

Triple 7 power is $30

Bullets $15-35

Primers $3

Patchs $7

Cleaner $10

Lube $8-10

This is just a rough guess on the prices of the needs to just get started.

Froggy