• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Bad Luck

Joe15

I got hooked up with one of the best bow hunters in this area as he is a family fried. This is my first year hunting with a bow and he brought me to an absolute honey hole. Put me in a tree stand and got into his 35 yards away. That night i heard something behind me and saw the deer the little doe was about 15 yards behind me bought caught sight of me and ran. daylight was getting low and i was very frustrated with myself. with about a half hour of daylight left a 4 or 5 point buck walked in to my main shooting area. I wanted to shoot but didnt know what to do. So he slipped away but stayed close when we grunted and thought he was pretty cool. Afterwards the guy told me i was supposed to stand up and shoot not sit and shoot. I had no idea and felt like a complete one-who-thinks-I-am-silly...im going out tomorrow with him so hopefully i have better luck.

Don't feel too bad, we all have to learn in order to be proficient at what we do. It takes time & practice, it'll come and then you can appriciate it all the more. One step at a time. Good luck & keep learning, you'll be whacking them before long!

I can relate. The day I shot my first buck, I watched as 3 does came down the field and into the woods where I was sitting. They stopped by my tree for a few minutes nad eventually walked down into the ravine.