• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ratsos and Shrimpos

mozy

I've never used either before, but am trying to add small plastics to my arsenal. Are there any specific sizes or colors I should be aware of before I just go out and buy at random? Will be using these on crappies, gills, and possibly perch?

As a side note, how are the Nuclear Ants? I've heard that the black ones are a great bait.

Best place to start with ice plastics are ratsos and shrimpos IMO. Then you can graduate on to Little Atom plastics, Lindy Techni-Glo Tails, Berkley Power Minnows, and on and on.

Nuclear ants are a great way to dip your toes in the waters of plastics.

With plastics, provide the action and they will come! I like the white glow-in-the-dark shrimpos. Also am a fan of the blood red ratsos and black ratsos and shrimpos. They're a great way to match the hatch.

Great question and good luck Mozy!

IMO, you should rarely need a split shot for any ice fishing. Reduces sensitivity, reduces bait action, distracts or scares inquisitive pannies...to many negatives. Match the jig size, line size, and rod action and you can be fast and sensitive, and with a flasher see what the fish are doing and where you need to place the bait. Direct tie to the jig, keep those jigs horizontal or vertical, slide the knot where you need it after each fish, and you are good to go. If you are losing fish interest because the drop is taking too long, go a size bigger.

Hope this helps.

slow falls also entice fish to bite.......it sucks sometimes waiting to get back in the strike zone but when you add split shots they tend to cause a knot in the line also.......pink body and white glow head good choice....tip it with 1 euro if the fish aren't taking it plain......Good Luck