• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Winter trout

tom_w

Hello all,

I am considering some trout fishing this year. I saw Hay and Whitewater among others are open on Jan 1. I am a novice (at best) for trout fishing. In all honesty, I'd be ecstaticto catch and release a 10 inch trout. Any tips for winter trout? Spinning gear is still easiest for me.

Tom

I'm a flyfisherman, but I would recommend to fish slowly with subsurface lures. There is the occasional midge hatch during the winter but most trout do not rely on it heavily for survival. During the winter trout will "pod" more in the deeper, slower water to conserve energy.

I caught a couple last year during the winter on tiny (size 0 and 00) inline spinners. This winter I plan on trying to drift some small nymphs, scuds, and muddlers. I imagine those would be the primary diet for Minnesota trout in winter. If you get to using a flyrod, I have heard that a "pink squirrel" nymph can be killer on brookies in the winter.

Good Luck!

I am like so haaad and flyfish mainly. But my trout fishing is almost always in IA with my dad and uncle. My uncle is a spin fisherman and early and late in each season he uses very small crappie jigs. He switches over to spinners in late spring and through summer and does well. So you might want to try small jigs retrieved slowly. And if you want to practice your flyfishing use some nymphs and you will do well. And IA streams are open (just not stocked) at this time of year and there are always holdover trout throughout the winter.