• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Help me pick on of these sleepers based on the fishing. I'm new to MN

WI  Women Fish

Here are my choices for sleeper shack rentals. I'm trying to stay under 400 miles from my house so these are what I came up with, Hunters Point, Appledorns, Hunter Winfields or Rocky Reef. Can anyone tell me who does the best job or putting you near fish. Also can you tell me if they pack a bunch or units close together or are your pretty spread out? Last question, whats the best time of year to go? Any help would be great.

Might not be a bad idea to post this in the Mille Lacs forum?

I personaly have not stayed at any of the resorts but I can tell you from personal experience that Paul at Appledorns is a great guy!

The resorts are in business to have people catch fish. If they are biting the resorts will have you on them!!

Hey Barb

Resorts are in the business to make the customer happy, some do that better than others.

Because I've stayed there and dealt with Paul first hand, I would highly recommend Appeldoorns. Paul will make sure your stay is a good one!

I cannot comment on the others since my knowledge on them is limited, but if they've been in business several years, they must be doing something right wink

M.L. is going to be a tough bite this winter (lots of forage base), if you can swing it I'd head a little farther north to maybe Leach or Red.

Like mentioned before, all of the resorts you listed are good and will take care of you but it you want to catch fish I'd probably pass for this winter.

I would have to agree with fishingguy ML wont be the best choice for ice fishing this year. I would consider Red or LOTW for sme generally consistent action on the ice. Both are very fun lakes and LOTW is awesome because its a walleye day bite! Dont rule out winnie either