• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Anybody ever have there treestand blow down?

I got to thinking, once again, as every once in a while another tree would blow down, if anyone out there has had the experience of their tree blowing over with them in it. I take my time choosing a solid tree but you never really know if it's rotten in the middle and today is its destiny to topple in a gust. I've seen some otherwise healthy looking trees go over and then see that their core is rotten.

I wonder what you should do if you start going over. Probably isn't time to do anything. I like tree stands but sometimes they spook me a little.

I am a Certified Arborist by trade. There are some key things to look for, which are usually fairly obvious (when you know what to look for) to determine the stability of a tree.

I have a 22 page pdf file on how to recognize hazardous trees, published by the USFS. Without permission from the forum Admin. I will not post it here.

Contact me off of the forum at jsirbas@msndotcom

I remember a season many years ago(around 1983) in Kandiyohi county when the snow was falling and the wind was howling.It was almost a white out.I think I stopped counting on how many trees and limbs I either saw come down or heard come down.Pretty scary stuff.When a limb came down out of the big old oak next to my tree stand and one of the branches cut my face,I wheeled around and shot the button buck that had been hanging around for an hour or two,tagged him and without gutting I put my head down and drug him out.The smallest deer I have ever seen tagged.When I went back out to my stand 1/2 of the oak dusted my stand.After that I not only checked the tree I built in but I also like to check the trees around me and take a look up.Pretty close to making a head line.