Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sandmannd

Heat in a deer stand

8 posts in this topic

This is my first year sitting in a stand. I was curious if any of you use heaters if it's cold out. I have a perm stand that is up and has some room. Will the smell run the deer off? I have a heater/cooker I could use. I was also thinking of just some charcoal in a coffee can. Not sure, I can sit in the cold with arctic armor on if that is a better benefit but warm is always good.

I have used LP heat for 6 year's in my Blind...not once has it ever stopped a deer from coming in,stay warm and enjoy.

I once came across on old-timer while hunting. He was standing on the ground but also had a small fire going for warmth.

I asked him if he thought it would diminish his chances. He informed me that he has taken deer quite often and now uses the fire as an attractant. His theory was that deer are inquisitive and a small fire actually piques their curiousity.

Of course, a raging infernal will probably do the reverse.

Bob

Been using the heater cooker for heat as long as I can remember and have yet to get skunked deer hunting. The past 2 years I've used it in my ground blind with no ill effects.

I once came across on old-timer while hunting. He was standing on the ground but also had a small fire going for warmth.

I asked him if he thought it would diminish his chances. He informed me that he has taken deer quite often and now uses the fire as an attractant. His theory was that deer are inquisitive and a small fire actually piques their curiousity.

Of course, a raging infernal will probably do the reverse.

Bob

My dad has told me the exact same thing, that he knew a old-timer that did that. Maybe it was the same guy?