• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Public land puzzle??

jnorm1984

I have been awful frustrated this bow season. I am relatively new to hunting public land, this is my 3rd fall goin after it here in the Brainerd area. The 2 years prior to this year I have had ok luck, and have taken a doe each year with the bow. But in 3 years to this point I have only saw 2 bucks (one monster 8, and a fork). This year has been especially frustrating, when hunting public stuff I have only saw 3 deer while on stand, and don’t think I don’t hunt enough, in the last 7 days ive hunted 5 of them (2mornigs and nights, the rest nites), and it has been like that since the opener (give or take a day er 2). I am lucky enough at my job to be able to have access to aerial photos n stuff, and I know where public stuff is and what is there before I go in to a new area. Maybe I over analyze and don’t just hunt. What ever it may be, I need help finding deer on public land. Maybe the numbers are down idk, but simply put how does everyone on FM go about hunting public stuff? I must be doin something wrong this year...

First off, not all public land is created equal. In your area there are some big sections of public. Trying to determine a good section from an average one can be difficult. Although it isn't help to you now, one of the best ways to gauge deer activity is when a fresh snow falls. This will allow you to see how much activity your area is getting. My feeling is the easiest way to hunt public land is to find the food sources. If you find a piece of public that butts up to some private with a corn, bean or alfalfa field I would start there. If farm fields aren't an option look for mast crops, like acorns. Otherwise areas that were recently clear cut have some great browse for deer and they flock to them. Just some ideas...

jnorm1984,