• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New wheeler

Chode2235

I picked up a great deal on a Polaris sportsman, and would like to use it this winter on the ice. What types of things do you all do to make your wheeler work better for you on the ice.

Favorite products, or modifications?

Photos appreciated if possible. Thanks.

I have been using a wheeler for a couple of years now to pull my portable. Works great until the snow gets deep. I have done a few things to ensure performance. 1) Make sure you have a good battery, you don't want to be stranded out on the ice. 2) I use synthetic oil to prevent slow turn-over of a cold engine. 3) periodically start it and let it run if setting in one place too long. 4) I have put chains on to aid traction and steering especially on sheer ice. 5) I have added an auger holder on the front rack for easy access when running and gunning. 6) I have a hand held gps mounted on the handle bars for navigation.

The best thing I have learned is exactly how my machine reacts to the cold and how much prime/choke to give it so it starts right off w/o flooding the engine or killing the battery.

Congrats on the new wheeler ... I'm jealous.

Tow bar on the portable can be very handy. Helps keep the shack from plowing into your back wheels when you stop. Not much of a problem on snow, more so on ice or hardpack.

If it doesn't already have on , a 12v lighter type plug can be handy for pluggin in your GPS.