• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

liquid versus fan/air cooled

mrjigger

I am looking into buying a used sled.

What are the pros/cons of liquid, fan or air cooled machines.

Many of the sleds I am looking at are fan or air cooled.

Will I have a problem with overheating if I purchase an air cooled machine.

This may be a dumb question, but I am new to snowmobiles.

Thanks.

Overheat, no. But the biggest con/problem is lack of HP with fan cooled. 500 fan vs 500 liquid is a huge difference in performance. However, I'd bet you'd be alright not having the fastest sled on the trail. I overheat with liquid and actually believe you'd have less problems with a fan. Liquids rely on snow to cool the liquid where a fan will blow on the motor and since it is typically cold out, fans perform better in low snow conditions.

you have to watch the air temps with a fan cooled sled sense the relay on the air to cool them. i have only owned liquid cooled sleds and have no trouble with them.

i agree with the low snow condittions fan is the why to go

You can run a fan cooled sled in temps in the 40's no problem. Its when you have those temps and then get into that heavy wet deep snow that will overheat a fan cooled if you don't watch it.

One plus a liquid with heat exchangers in the tunnel is the tunnel won't ice up. Deep snow + slush on the ice and freezing temps will pack a fan cooled tunnel then freeze.