• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

how early is to early

I'm new at this duck hunting thing and have a ton of stupid questions. The only reason I am realley doing this is because my son and his buddies think they have to hunt and fish for every thing there is a season for. I have the boat ready, the lab trained, read every magazine, new guns and every else I could think of. But the one thing I can't find ouy is how early do we go out on opening morning. We plan on hunting in a popular spot. We scouted the area and there are alot of ducks but how early do we go out before to many hunter take all the good spots. My son thinks we should camp out after the football game friday evening. Any one have a special time that is a good time?

Here's an opening day strategy that works for me. I have property next to a popular WMA and tried hunting it for years on the opener and had to get up earlier and earlier each season to beet the rush until I wised up and watched where the ducks like to exit the slew when all the shooting starts. Now I wait at the landing and tell each hunter launching where the others are located. Then I walk to the pass shooting spot and pick off the ducks as they come off the pond.

I have a pic of me dropping a limit of green wing teal at my feet on a road between my land and the WMA. No boat, no decoys needed, Just a dog ready to retrieve and you don't even need to put on the waders.

This pattern works on many slews and is a good fall back if you are running late.

You can hunt the morning flury from the shore and then set up after the sun comes up. That way you can see where the other hunters are set up and spread out accordingly and you can also catch some of the ducks chased off other WMAs that are looking for a place to set down.