• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Sirius radio

fasternu

Question

My wife is thinking about buying me a Sirius subscription for our anniversary. A few questions about it:

1. I have a 2005 Ford Explorer that is capable of running it. But, do I need anything else to make it work, or just a subscription code when I call Sirius?

2. Any other additional costs besides the actual subscription fees?

I have some experience with Sirius, and think I will like it, but just not sure if I should go for it or not.

Thanks in advance!

9 answers to this question

If your car came with a free year subscription to Sirius, you need not do anything else or add anything else. They should have all the information you need. However, if your vehicle never came set up with satellite radio in the first place, there may be other steps to take. I'm not exactly sure what you may or may not need then. Personally, I would call Sirius and ask them to be sure.

After my car came with the free year subscription, I found I could not live without it. I never listen to regualr FM stations anymore. Channel 20 (Octane) kicks butt...

fasternu

I have not used Sirius, but unless you have a Satellite ready stereo you will need a tuner to receive the signal and some way to get that signal to your speakers.

If you have that, yes you will just need to buy the subscription.

If not you will need to buy some additional hardware.