• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Calling and Rattling Schedule in MN

stick

I'm new to archery-hunting this year after rifle hunting my whole life. What are typical calendar schedules for when to begin calling and/or rattling? Just curious if it's too early and if so, when to begin?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Might be a little early, the absolute best time for aggressive tactics is the pre-rut period, there is a window of about 5-7 days where rattling and calling can work, still it can be hit or miss, but all it takes is the right timing. If I had to guess, this year that window should fall in the time period from around Halloween to gun opener. When the bucks start to chase the does, but the does aren't receptive is when you can take advantage of the agression of the bucks. I will also say that the higher the buck to doe ratio, the better luck you will have....either way you just never know. I have called in a few smaller bucks with the "can" and grunting, so that can be a good combo as well.

It's going to be an interesting year for calling and rattling this year in my area.

We have: Bucks that have already shed their velvet

Bucks that are still in velvet but are done growing and ready to shed their velvet.

Bucks that are still in velvet and still growing.

Really strange!

I would say anytime two weeks before and after Nov. 1 would be prime time. But it could work at any time, try it. Last year I rattled in and shot a 9 point buck on Oct. 15. He didn't come charging in but I think he was curious. Was it the rattling and grunting that brought him in?? I don't know, but I had been watching him for 45 minutes and finally he came walking right by my stand after I'd been making some racket rattling and grunting.

i don't step a foot into the woods without a grunt or rattle bag...ever.