• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Jet Ski

dustin85

Hey! Unless I missed it, I did not see a forum for jet ski's. I just picked up a 96 Sea Doo SPX with a trailer and a lift.. I have no experience with these machines. Is there anything I should know about it? (wear items to check, commonly damaged parts, etc.) Also, I am not going to need the lift. What is a fair price for it if I decide to sell it? It is aluminum, and it works,....sorry, that's all I know about it right now.-Later!

Dustin

Dustin, couple of tips I can tell you. I've got a 1997 XP.

tip 1 - Dont neglect winterizing the machine. This means running antifreeze thru the motor, as instructed by your service manual. Neglect to winterize and you'll be shopping for a new motor in the Spring.

tip 2 - Get a decent battery. My battery needs a full charge to even turn the motor over. My motor is a 787 though..not sure what size yours would be. Nothing worse than trying to pull the battery when the machine is in the water.

Tip 3 - You cant just tow it behind a boat. You need a hose clamp to block the intake line, or else you'll flood the motor and possibly ruin it. I have towed mine VERY slowly without it, in an emergency though.

and finally Tip 4 - If someone tips it, rolls it, or just brings it back to you and says that it stopped running. Try starting it again IMMEDIATELY. If it wont turn over, DO NOT assume that it's a dead battery. Assume that it's waterlocked. You need to get it to a beach and roll it on it's side. I'm unfamiliar with the exact process, but it's likley that water came thru the exhaust and is now sitting inside of your engine. If you dont get it out immediately you will ruin your motor in 1 day.

IF you do get it to fire and see a puff of white smoke - but it wont run - it's waterlocked and you have to get the water out asap.