• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

bait casting reel

dairyman

I just recently bought a new bait casting reel and put a spool of spider wire on it------------what a mistake!!!!! I can't cast with it as the line buries it self in the spool. What type of line do you use on the reels???? Frustrated!!!!!!!

I had some Spyderwire Stealth 30# on a new baitcaster I brought. Used it because the store put it on for free. I'm pretty new to baitcasters (couple months), but I noticed it seemed to have a tendence to bury into the spool too.

IMHO for starting out, so far I have found Gama Copoly easy to work with - 12# is a good starting point. It is very limp, comes off the spool smooth, and doesn't want to spring off causing backlashes like some of the stiffer mono's or flouro. It is also fairly cheap.

Good Luck!

Dairyman, is this your first baitcaster? Or is your experience in using baitcasters primarily via trolling? Not to sound like an arse, but it does take some getting used to from a casting standpoint. I run 10 to 15 yards of mono tied directly on the bare spool, then put on the braid. I don't have any experience with spyder line, only Power Pro & Fireline. But once you get your reel tuned up for the bait your throwing, it will rarely backlash or get cinched up (dug into) the spool, it just takes some practice. When I first got into baitcasters (6 or 7 years ago) I practiced in the back yard and suffered through lots of backlashes & line digging into the spool. Keep at it and try not to get too frustrated, another thing I found that helped me out big time was to put a thicker diameter line on. Thicker means easier time in digging out backlashes, as you get more proficient in the casting, you can thin out your line. The key is practice & patience.