• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

advice for a youngster

I've met a young fella who has really taken an interest in photography. A 15 year old. His Dad is a friend so I've let the kid mess with my SLR a bit and he's hooked. His budget is something around the nikon d40. I think it would be a fine camera to learn and start out with. He really can't afford much more. His question is the 6.1 pixels. He would like to do some nature photography and enlarge pics to a 8x10. Altho I take a lot of pictures I'm by no means a expert. Would the d40 meet his needs to enlarge? I hate to see him have to save more money to upgrade to a higher end camera when his interest is so high. It's taken him all summer to get the money saved for the d40.

Any advice?

An image from a 6 Mp camera will enlarge quite well. I've got some such images enlarged to 13x19 and a few to 20x30 and they are excellent.

An 8x10 will be absolutely no problem unless he has to crop away a lot of the file to get the composition he wants.

Yep as Steve said, that sensor will be plenty for 8x10s and 13x19s. I have quite a few printed that size from a 6.3 as well and they look quite nice.

Steve said this elsewhere but not in this thread, when you look at larger photos, you usually increase the viewing distance. It is a proportional thing. If you look super close, you might see some things that don't quite have super tight/clean edges, but you don't look that close at them.

When you print images with a lot of leaves and fine details at larger sizes you will notice more edges that seem to get lost, but it takes at least a 13x19 to start seeing that with a 6 mp SLR camera.

Remember, an SLR sensor is a lot different than a sensor in a point and shoot.