• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Large River Carp Tactics

I'm in Mankato, and have had luck with carp just about everywhere but I am wondering if there are certain locations I should look for on the Minnesota River? Should I keep it in shallow water or deep holes? Should I be casting near wooded structure, or just in the middle of the river?

I am using a 5/0 circle hook with a full nightcrawler strung on the hook so no hook is exposed. I'm using a 2 ounce bank sinker with about 18" of line between hook and sinker. My biggest one so far was a little over 9 lbs but I have many in the 5 lb range.

Also, is it illegal to fish for Sturgeon in Minnesota? Sorry for the newb questions, but I am very new to river fishing. I am an experienced fisherman but this is my first season ever fishing a larger river.

If you just are targeting carp, chuck half a can of corn upstream from where you want to cast. Then use a slip sinker rig (enough weight so it won't move) and use a size 2 or 4 hook and put 4-5 kernels on it. Cast out and wait!

I was just on the Minnesota R. near Granite Falls for work, we fished it at night. Never fished the Mn R ever before and that technique hammered the carp up to 15 pounds. Deeper holes can be productive, but don't overlook faster runs, active fish will be feeding there. We saw fish with their backs out of the water in super fast current, feeding voraciously.

I'd go with the corn idea too; chumming is legal in Minnesota.

I thought I've read on the boards multiple times that chumming is NOT legal in MN. I'd have to go double check the regs. Maybe they just write tickets for "littering".