• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What are the chances of a nonresident pulling a buck tag? I'm guessing it's close to nil. If I read the regs correctly it appears that nonresidents only get put into the second lottery, and there would most likely be no buck tags available by then.

It all depends on what area ou hunt (obviously I guess). I don't have it yet, but usually at the end of the year or the beginning of next year the GNF sends out the stats on the hunting season in the Outdoors magazine. When that comes out I'll let you know what I find, but yes, I agree that the odds aren't in your favor.

marine_man

2J1 would be the unit I'd be applying for but there are always residents who are denied tags in that unit so that would mean none available for the 2nd lottery.

Are you referring to Dakota Outdoors magazine? If so, I have a subscription and will keep an eye out for the results. I was looking online but didn't find anything on the G&F HSOforum.

Dan, you just need to apply as its nothing more than a luck deal for NS because of preference points for those who have applied and not gotten drawn. I hunt in 2G1 and its about every 4 years for a rifle buck tag. One can go into the first lottery and then I go for doe tags after that and always get a few doe tags. The buck tags for non residents are allocated by percentage.

I believe its 1% and half of those go to outfitters so ones chances are not very good. Preference is your only chance other than a pile of luck.

NR can apply in the first draw.They get 1% of the buck tags in each unit.G/O do not get half of these tags.They are alloted up to 100 NR tags and no G/O can get more than 5.