• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

cranking for bass...

CALVINIST

Sorry if these questions seem dumb but I'm rather new to targeting LM and want to learn more. I have fished much more for walleyes in my life but must confess that I enjoy fishing for LM Bass. Basically I'll fish for almost anything!

Anyway, assume you are using the profile of the DT series, bomber, or Manns and fishing in 10-20 FOW close to a reef or shoreline and fishing the break. Are the bass always tight to the structure or do they suspend? Example, Could I catch bass on something that gets down only 10-11' in 15 FOW?

What water depth (or distance from the weedtops) do you fish the following cranks in?

Cranks that run...

just subsurface to 1 foot

2-4'

4-8'

8-12'

You get the idea. Just some general principles on bass location in relation to structure and what works for you while cranking would be appreciated much.

Calvinist,

In the spring, I love to throw shallow running crankbaits while the vegetation is just starting to get green and still below the surface. I love my DT3 Flat, which has a flat lip that bumps through cover nicely. I also use this bait in the summer to cruise over weeds that are in 8-10 fow. Lots of times the weeds in a clear lake will be about 4-5 feet high in this depth range, and a shallow runner that goes down 3-4 ft is great to bump off and run across the top of the vegetation. With the same thought in mind, I also like to throw a DT 7 or a DT10 in 10-15 feet of water where there is weeds.