• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Looking for info on Polaris 500 ATP - Is 7" Ground Clearance a problem

NoviceFishingDad

In a previous post I got a lot of good info on what ATV to use for Cabin related activities and hoped I could get feedback now on a specific machine.

I have been looking at a 2005 500 ATP (all terrain pickup).

It seems to have all of the features we need to do the work needed at the cabin, the most being plowing a 600 ft gravel road (rolling hills). In doing some research, I have found that it only has 7" ground clearance and am a little concerned about this as it relates to plowing. I have no real experience with ATV and do not expect to do any serious extreme riding or mudding, however, will be using it on ice and sometimes in our lake shore area.

Any feedback on this machine would be greatly appreciated. If you do not have any experience with this machine, would you be afraid of 7" ground clearance? My main use is for chores at the lake, but will get it out on trails a little bit - just don't want to buy something if it really is going to be limited by the clearance...

Thanks in advance.

NFD

It shouldn't be a problem if you have a plow. Even without a plow as long as you're sensible about what you're trying to drive through you should be fine. The majority of the time someone gets stuck it's because they were asking for it. If you're still worried about it look into the Sportsman X2, my dad has had a couple of 'em now and they are pretty similar to the ATP but they come with IRS(I think they have 10" clearance).