• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

rod/reel combo question

goblueM

So I'm just getting into musky fishing. I got a 7'2 XH Compre with a C4 6600. I wasn't planning on getting another combo, but yesterday a rod fell in my lap. Found a Fig Rig Tooth Tamer in the Bargain Cave at Cabelas for 70 bucks - only thing wrong was the ceramic insert had popped out of the tip top. Took 4 bucks and 2 minutes to remedy that. Had a return and some Cabela's points so the rod cost me 15 bucks.

So now my question is... this new Tooth Tamer is a H action, 7'. I'm thinking of putting the 6600 on that and getting something more durable with more cranking power on my XH Compre so I can throw bigger baits. My budget is around $100, but I might be able to rationalize up to $150. What do you think the best choice would be? Also, any opinions on the Tooth Tamers? They good rods?

Thanks for the input!

We just went through this whole question. Not about the rod, but the reel to put on it. I think the concesus was a 7000iC3. The bottom line is get a C3 vs. C4 when throwing big baits. I just got a Shimano 8' Crucial Heavy and I have a new C3 on the way.

thats funny, my buddy has had 3 cardiffs break in the last 2 years.

I ended up getting a Abu 7000i HSN, by the way. 30% off at Thorne, I think I got what I was looking for

Now, now, the cardiff is not bullet proof and I've seen pictures of broken cardiff's I've never thought would've been possible - said claimed by someone that it happend on a cast. Personally I find it hard to believe from the looks I'd assumed dropped or stepped on but I wasn't there when it happened - bottomline is it does break or fail.

Any of the Abu's round baitcasting reels are very good value for the money, better price point than a Cardiff - as no different they can break or fail as well as attested by many owners.