Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Craig Plummer

Flourocarbon

8 posts in this topic

I was reading through an In-Fish article last night about the advantages/disadvantages of Flourocarbon. I was thinking of spooling my Jigging rod with 14# Flouro to cut back on the visability of the line (I currently use #14 mono), But I dont like the fact that it is stiffer than mono because I am worried about having more backlashes with my baitcaster (Im still learning).

So my question is Do you guys fill your whole spool with Flouro or would you just use a Flouro leader and fill your spool with a differant type of line?

I have spooled all floro and it went well until I had a backlash then lil kinks in the line. I went back to braid for everything. I'll tie on a floro or mono leader if needed, but mostly tie direct with braid then color 12-18" of the braid with a black perm marker. My .02

My opinion is that I do not like flourocarbon lines yet, and I don't use them for main lines yet and definately wouldn't recomend them for leaders.

If it is visibility you are worried about, look at them and compare, I don't think you will notice much if any difference with the human eye between 14lb flouro and 14lb mono.

The other reason is it seems flourocarbon breaks way to easy. I have used two types of flouro and both break way under what is on the label for me.