• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Channel Cats

Muskie456

I am wondering if there are that many channel cats in the MN from 371 to past 169 bridge. I am new to chasing cats but have spent exstensive time on rivers of all sizes. I understand how they work and where fish genrally hang out and can't get bit. I have only been out a couple times but it has been evenings into dark and fished numorouse spots that look great(Current seams, back eddies, deep holes, river mouths, big snag areas, slack water)I got advise from Moores as far as stink bait goes and have fished cut bait along side the stink bait(with a buddy)and literally haven't had an eat. Are the channels not in that area? Are there not that many of them?Are they spawning? is the water to high? Is it purely a night bite? Any nugget of info would be great.

Thanks

the Minnesota has channels in it's entire length...

Current seams and snags are good places to look. personally I steer clear of the storebought stink bait, and go with cut sucker, cut bullhead, (sometimes live suckers and bullies for the biggest channels) and in a pinch, chicken livers, uncooked shrimp that have been left in the sun for a few hours, lastly crawlers.

I've caught them day and night, although it can pick up at dusk a little more.

You are in the right place for catfish chat, these guys on here are awesome for lending a helping hand or nugget of information.