• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

wilkie/louisville/rapids lake units for deer

well with gas prices and all im going to start doing some scouting locally in the wilkie, louisville/rapids lake units i will report back what little I can. I am no expert so any insight will be greatly appreciated. It will be me and my 15 yr old brother still trying to get his first DEER PERIOD. I will also be checking around the areas of ST PETER, RUM RIVER STATE FOREST/ MILLE LACS WMA and CARLOS AVERY I will see what we can do this year. Is it too early to start scouting right now? Is it TOO LATE? Today i might hit the area down by the river in shakopee where the bow range is. WILKIE y think it is

I went there 1996-1999 Wilkie area always saw deer got two,Lots of people at times,I quit going weekends and days, only to go evenings weekdays,close to the river was best long walk and drag!

Thats cool yeah i work nights and have all day to go hit these areas i live in eden prairie so not a long drive. Thanks for the information I hope I can get back with some information of my own soon.

I've hunted all over Louisville Swamp. There is definitely a lot of pressure on the weekends. Don't expect to be hunting by yourself. I had better luck later in the season when other folks didn't want to gut out the cold weather. I never took any bucks, but I took a half dozen doe's over the years. I had my best luck setting up against the edge of the cattail sloughs and trying to catch deer as they came out of the swamps to feed in the evening.