• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

open water trolling

no_bod

I'm new to open water trolling and I'm looking for some techniques. Do you prefer a certain depth for trolling cranks or are you just looking for the baitfish? Any particular lure? I've did this in the past, but don't have much experience. It was earlier in the season as well. Can this presentation pay off throughout the year? Please let me know what has worked for you guys if you will. Best of luck to all of you!

We've done most of our open water trolling in fall with limited success. We have caught a few fish on Believers and Jakes about 12-15 feet down. We havn't put anything in the boat this year, but we're still tryin.

Summer try trolling big spinnerbaits - Rad Dogs, CJ Spins etc. 2oz size Colorado blade is my preference. I troll them from 2 to 4mph inside edge, outside edge and over the top. I'll switch to cranks in the fall.

Hiya -

Especially early in the season, I think it's easy to troll under fish over open water. I bet 80% of the fish I catch open water trolling in June and July are on lures running less than 10 feet deep. Lots of them are on baits running 2-3 feet down. With fish and baitfish high in the water column it can be kind of hard to spot them on electronics though. Sometimes all you see is little diagonal streaks on your graph as you pass over them. So I just look for areas that I know have historically held baitfish, or on new water, for areas of what Doug Stange calls 'confined open water' near major structure - off big points, between a point and a reef, inside a big bay, narrows or neck-down areas, or the open water areas of distinct basins on a multi-basin lake. Doesn't always need to be super-deep water either. Sometimes the basin is only 25 feet deep.