• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Bass patterns?

BassThumb

I'm still learning all about bass, but this year has me all confused with the way the weather has been and how cold the water is.

I'm just curious to what bass do once they spawn? Do they crawl back into the deep, if so what depth on average? I have been fishing shallow water, 3-4ft and have not found any larger fish. Maybe I missed it, but have the bass even started spawning?

I'm just flustered and kinda want to know the general path bass take each year/summer. Kinda curious when to fish what depths and what lure to be tossing at what times... I hear people tossing frogs when I thought later summer was the time for that...

I'd appreciate any insight you might have for a newer bass addict smile

This is a very hard subject. IMO, i think the bass move out and hide themselves in the thinkest stuff they can find. Maybe im wrong, but i think there hiding for a few weeks and then come back into the shallow waters again.

After the spawn, I find bass relating mostly to weeds. Up here in central Minnesota, our weedlines are usually in the 8-12 foot range, and the bass relate closely to that. In some clear lakes, the weedlines grow deeper. You will find them throughout the lake on the weedlines. For instance, you might have a sunken island or hump way out in the middle of the lake surrounded by really deep water, and if it has a good weedline, there will be bass there.

My favorite place to fish them though is in the slop. I find them throughout the entire summer up shallow in the thickest cabbage, junkweed, lillypad, scummy stuff you can find. To me, there's nothing like catching big bass on topwater stuff in really heavy cover.