• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Dirty shallow weedy area, what to use?

slimerg0d

Hello all, I'm new to Bass fishing. My son is getting me hooked on watching the Bass fishing shows and we were on a lake yesterday that we fish for pan fish and we have caught some bass doing so.

My question is what is a good technique to use in 2 - 6 feet of water that has many Lily pads and weeds and is not clear at all, can barely see 1 - 2 feet down? I was catching some bass on small leeches and night crawlers.

Thanks in advance. PS -- They are some fun fish to catch!

First get aleast a medium-heavy rod and some braided line, you'll need it if you fish heavy weeds... As for baits Google "Stanley Ribbit Frogs" I've been killing the bass on these the last few days in the pads, scumfrogs are also great for pads and heavy weeds... Otherwise the classic spinnerbait might work depending on how weedy it is... I also texas rig a worm and slowly work it through the pads... hope this helps.

As Broodwich mentioned, texas rig is a very good weedless option. If the water is stained I would use a pumpkin or a green color worm. If you go to YouTube.com and do a search on texas rig you will find some good info on how too setup a texas rigged worm. When I fish this way in lily pads I'll drag the worm on top of a lily pad and then slowly pull it off and let it drop all the way to the bottom, most of my strikes will happen during the fall to the bottom.

Good luck

Use a 6ft stiff(er) rod, and 14lb fireline (black).

If your using texas(carolina) rigged plastic worms, i personally suggest the gary yamokoto worms... toss it right up to the shoreline, in the little pockets, and slowly twitch the worm back... then the bass will tap, tap, and then you set the hook with a little twitch of your wrist. You gotta let the fish take it before you set the hook.