• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Camping In Ontario

Hey guys, we have a little portage lake up there, and this year I'm looking to do some camping on it, are they any regulations governing where you can and can't camp in Ontario? I heard that all you have to do is purchase a permit, is that true?

Correct, there's no camping on Crown Land, but you can camp in non-Crown areas not designated as official campsites. For example, there's no KOA's on LOTW, but there's hundreds of islands that have areas that have been made into a campsite.

I thought americans can camp on crown land w/ permit as long as campsite is 1/2 km away from lake or river. makes it quite difficult. I sure wish that law could change for us americans. but pretty sure that will never happen.

I've been camping in Ontario for over 25 years and there is camping allowed on Crown Land (government). Some areas are restricted and some are not. The Ontario Ministry of Natrual Resources publishes a map detailing restricted and non-restricted areas. You may also camp on Crown Land if you are outfitted by a resort or flyin service.

In areas that camping is allowed non-residents must have a camping permit. These permits are available at all bait shops and are $10 per night per person.

The take limits on fish are also different when you camp and are not staying with a resort or outfitter. So check out the fishing regs.

As a general rule most of the area from Thunder Bay to the Manatoba line south of TransCan 17 is restricted. However, there are pockets of restricted and non-restricted areas all over the province.

MNR number for Fort Francis 1-807-274-5337 or 1-807-934-2233

I haven't called these number for quite sometime so they might not be current. I'm sure they have a webpage.