• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Whats on your Stay Safe List?

CrappieAttitude

While I was replying to the road rash post, my mind quickly drifted off to those times where I was faced with moments while riding that could have gone south pretty quick. I know that motorcycling in the mind of the non-rider is probably the most "dangerous" thing imaginable. I really get annoyed trying to convince people who don't like motorcycles that they can in fact be safe. In reality there are more car accidents in a year than motorcycle accidents. If you do things right I truly believe they can be one of the safest modes of transportation out there. I personally believe that I am a better driver in my car due to the fact that I ride motorcycles. Here is a list of some things that I feel are necessary to be a safe and effective rider.

1. Take the motorcycle safety class (If applying for a motorcycle license take the class whether you need to or not. There is a lot of great information in that class.)

2. When purchasing a motorcycle, make sure you get one that fits you. (not too big and not too small)

3. Purchase quality riding gear (Jacket, boots, gloves, Helmet)

4. Drive defensively (ride like nobody can see you)

5. LOOK AT EVERYTHING!!!(road debris, sand in corners, animals in ditches, cars coming towards you, merging traffic...)

6. Give yourself enough space (make sure that you have enough room if you should need to make a quick decision.

7. DON'T RIDE AT NIGHT (nothing good comes from riding at night)

8. Avoid riding in someones blind spot (if you need to pass someone, get around them quick, It is amazing how quickly you can disappear when you are next to a vehicle.) This is one thing I love about motorcycling, you never have to worry about not being able to get around someone if needed.