• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Novice without a sonar

Hello,
I've been ice-fishing for three years now and I have only been able to catch sunfish and crappies and perch. I don't have a sonar, but I've been useing tip-ups and jigging but I haven't been sucessful. Any ideas on how to catch fish? Please
derek

eyes are us,
I too fish w/o sonar (my wife's allocation to the fishing budget doesn't currently cover such an expenditure) and have found some walleyes anyway. Here's what my stategy has been:

1) Do some intensive investigation of the DNR's lake surveys to find a lake w/ a good population of walleyes. This HSOforum is also a great place for such info.

2) Get a depth map of the lake (also available on the DNR HSOforum) to identify good structure. Rapid depth changes, underwater points/reefs, etc..

3) Fish the heck out of the areas that look promising at different times of day. Drill a lot of holes to find weedlines, move up & down along breaks, try various techniques, lures, and differing depths relative to the bottom. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I've found that by fishing a promising lake with regularity you eventually get a feel for it through trial and error. I've become so familiar w/ the lake in my neighborhood that the last four times out I've caught walleyes in decent numbers if not decent size because I've spent the time to figure out their patterns. Unless some of the other experienced anglers on this site have some better shortcuts to fishing w/o sonar, I don't think there is a substituion for time on a lake.