• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Need help with jigging technique

huskminn

Okay, I've been fishing for 30 years, but am still fairly new to the serious ice fishing scene (3-4 years). I am almost ashamed to admit....I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to jigging for fish through the ice.

I know all the set-ups: Kastmasters, Jiggin Raps, Nils Masters, Buckshot Rattle Spoons, Angle Eyes, etc, etc. Tip them with minnow head, minnow tail, whole minnow, etc.

What I don't know is how to go about jigging them.....how to detect a hit....when to jig, when to stop, etc. I can't hold my rod steady enough to watch the tip and detect a light bite with cold hands. Of course, if a fish thumps it, no problem, but I have no confidence in jigging.

Can someone offer some insights here? Thank you!

Huskminn,I like to use a medium sized swedish pimple in the pearl color tipped with a minnow head.Keep it 4"to a foot off the bottom constantly jigging, ripping it up a foot or and letting it fall leave it pause a second or two then repeat.I always fish this under a vexilar.When a fish comes in it is usually on the pause.If it is reluctant pull the jig slowly upward and give it a slight jiggle.Keep pulling it up away from the fish(it really tics them off) When they hit it you'll know it (Bang!) smile.gif

------------------
RipJigger